Activating and Using the YouTube App

1. Access YouTube App

1.2. By searching “youtube” under the Apps tab you’ll see there are two different YouTube apps. The app simply named “YouTube” allows you to display videos on screen, whereas “YouTube Live” enables you to play only live videos on screen. Select the YouTube app and click “Install App” to create a new instance.  

2. Choose your YouTube settings

After the app is installed, you’ll be directed to a settings panel where you can create and modify an instance of the YouTube app. 

ScreenCloud youtube app settings

2.1. Select the YouTube video content to show

(i) Navigate to the YouTube video you wish to add to your YouTube App instances.

(ii) Click the share button below the video, and copy the link. (Please note that sharing permissions need to be enabled by the video provider for the link to display properly)

(iii) Navigate back to your YouTube App instance and paste the URL into the “YouTube URL*” space.

The URL you’ve copied will look like this example: 

2.2. Other settings

Once you’ve selected what video content to show, you have a few additional settings to personalize. 

You can choose a name for your selection by editing “Instance Name” (for example, “YouTube – 4K Scenes”). This will help you spot it later if you’re using more than one YouTube app stream. You can set the maximum number of videos to play and maximum duration (in minutes) for each video. You can also choose to mute or toggle subtitles for your video.

Please note: Subtitles will only appear if the video from YouTube has a transcription file attached. YouTube can auto-generate captions for videos while being displayed on YouTube’s site. However, on third-party sites subtitles won’t show if the video wasn’t uploaded with a caption (transcription) file. If you have control of the video upload on YouTube, we’d recommend adding or checking if the video has a transcription attached. You can learn more about this via YouTube’s help center.

3. Preview your results

After you’ve completed your video settings, you can preview the YouTube app before adding it to a Playlist or Channel. This helps you determine that the right video content is playing and in the right order and has the proper permissions. Simply hit “Preview”.

4. Save

Press save. Your content block will now appear as a saved instance under your YouTube App.

Share:

Facebook
Twitter
Pinterest
LinkedIn